Flanary bests stout field of Iron-Man Modifieds

The Brucebilt Performance Iron-ManModified Series would kick off a double-header weekend of racing action at Crossville Speedway in Crossville, TN on Friday evening and Shon Flanary of Surgoinsville, TN would drive to the checkered flag first and score the $1,200 victory.

The win by Flanary would mark his third consecutive victory with the tour and would come aboard his NAPA of West Liberty/FAST Trucking/Custom Suspensions/Casva Angus Farms/Auto Body Specialist/Will Kinzer Foundation for Autism Research sponsored #98 MB Customs, Mullins Race Engines powered entry.

Shon Flanary would take the lead at the start of the 25 lap, $1,200 to win contest, with Jeff Hamby, Dustin Diden, Joey Cotterman, and Jeff Watson giving chase.  Watson would make a bold move on lap two and would drive past Cotterman, Diden, and Hamby and go to second.  Blake Brown would make his way into the top five on lap four and would take fourth from Cotterman on lap five.  Just as Flanary was about to catch slower traffic, the first caution of the event would wave on lap nine when Michael Phillips would spin in turn two.  The caution would wave on the restart as Josh Chesney would spin in turn two.  When racing resumed, Flanary would maintain the lead, while Brown would drive by Diden for the third position, with eleventh place starting Jimmy Payne making his way to fifth.  Tyler James would draw the next caution with a spin on lap fourteen in turn two.

Back underway, Flanary would maintain the lead, while Watson and Brown would duel for the second position, while Cotterman would retake fifth from Payne.  Tyler James would spin again on lap sixteen in turn four and would pull pitside for the night.  On the restart, Flanary, Watson, and Brown would hold the top three positions, as Cotterman would pass Diden for fourth, while three circuits later, Payne would pass Diden for the fifth spot.  With Flanary pulling away from the field, Watson and Brown would continue to battle for second.  The caution would wave again on lap twenty-two when Courtney Smith would spin in turn two.  The restart would come back as well as a four-car tangle involving Dean Jurist, Billy Palmer, Courtney Smith, and John Smith would tangle on the frontchute.  Jeff Hamby would draw the caution on the next restart and would spin again on the next attempted restart with twenty-one laps scored.  The final caution would wave on the final lap twenty-two restart as fourth place Joey Cotterman would spin in turn two.  The final four laps would see Flanary pull away and see the checkered flag first, with Watson taking the runner-up position, with Brown settling for third.  Payne and Diden would complete the top five.

The remainder of the top ten finishers at Crossville Speedway would be fifteenth-place starting Kenny Cordell, Zach Powers, twentieth-place starter Paul Shead, Cotterman, and Wayne James.

Brucebilt Iron-Man Modifieds:

1. Shon Flanary #98
2. Jeff Watson #11
3. Blake Brown #99
4. Jimmy Payne #68
5. Dustin Diden #112
6. Kenny Cordell #11
7. Zack Powers #33Z
8. Paul Shead #7S
9. Joey Cotterman #29C
10. Wayne James #4
11. Terry Jones #J1
12. Joey Whittenburg #2
13. Josh Claney #X
14. Courtney Smith #52
15. Billy Palmer #36
16. John Smith #23
17. Dave Jurist #47
18. Jeff Hamby #15
19. Tyler James #J4
20. Chris Kirk #71
21. Michael Phillips #77
22. Stanley Fletcher #1
23. Patrick Vareika #117

Crate Late Models:

1. Jesse Lowe #5J
2. Josh Henry #B00
3. Perry Delaney #77
4. Deke Water #66
5. Floyd Turner #50
6. Joe Cline #4X
7. Wayne Clark #11
8. Bradley Llewlyn #10B
9. Jeff Cotterman #28C
10. Kyle Courtney #171

Sportsman Late Models:

1. Zach Shannon #Z1
2. DJ Shannon #D22
3. Jeff Walker #49
4. Shane Hancock #4
5. Darrick Duggar #48
6. Anthony Conley #19
7. Jesse Lower #10B – DNS


1. Jeff Proffitt #31
2. Lamar Hughes #10
3. Scott Brown #319
4. Skylar Douglas #14
5. Josh Stoglin #96
6. Kane Pelfrey #01
7. Lucas Presley #L92
8. Scott Proffitt #39
9. Shane Turner 25G
10. Ronnie Hargies #44 – DNS

Front Wheel Drive:

1. Nick Adams #N90
2. Brandon Jenkins #J57
3. Jacob Sharp #1
4. Amelia McClain #717
5. Colton Proffitt #6
6. Trevor Sampson #28
7. Josh Wheeler #199
8. Sam Profitt #61
9. Aaron Desbrais #21VT
10. Nathan Adams #A93
11. Chris Hoskins #75
12. Cody Rector #46
13. Hunter Hoffman #22
14. Justin Alderman #J14
15. Matthew Sullivan #3 – DNS


1. Jonathan “Jon Bon” Allen #22
2. Rodney Hall #01
3. Dwayne Allen #21
4. Dylan Hall #H1
5. Wes Jones #28
6. Austin Burton #15
7. Carl Lovelace #79
8. Chris Flatt #3
9. Cody Garrison #5
10. Dustin Hall #1
11. Steve Morris #47
12. Anthony Coffman #03
13. Taylor Brown #11B
14. Cledaus Bumbalough #4
15. Larry Garrison #15 – DNS
16. Chris Lafever #7 – DNS

Comments are closed.